CHS Grad Chris Marshall Hired As Elementary Principal


Crothersville High School graduate Chris Marshall is returning to his alma mater serve as elementary principal.

At a special meeting of the Crothersville Community School Board of Trustees last Wednesday afternoon, Marshall was hired as elementary principal. He replaces Claude Morgan who retired in May after 17 years as elementary principal.

Trustees approved Marshall’s contract, which will be for the next two school years.

“This is the community where I was raised, this was my grassroots,” Marshall said after the meeting. “I will be giving you my heart and soul.”

“I feel very honored and privileged to be able to give back to the educational system that gave to me so many good things through the years,” he said.

Marshall graduated from CHS in 1980 and holds a bachelor’s degree in business, a bachelor’s degree in elementary education and a master’s degree in elementary administration from Indiana University Southeast in New Albany.

Marshall has taught at Jennings County Schools and Scott County School District 2 at Lexington Elementary School.

His administrative duties began in alternative education for Scott County Schools. Most recently, he was assistant principal at Scottsburg Elementary School.

“I’m looking forward to improving our ISTEP scores,” Marshall said.

Crothersville Schools is on academic probation because of low ISTEP scores.

Marshall and his wife of 26 years, Pam, live in Lexington. They have three sons, Devin, Dustin, and Darin Marshall.

With classes resuming for students next Tuesday, Aug. 5, trustees approved personnel assignments.

The extracurricular appointments were Richard Lewis and Bryan Hougland, sixth-grade class sponsors; Mary Jo Isenhower, seventh-grade class sponsor; Jessica Wischmeier, high school Academic Super Bowl team coach; Misti Wieneke, Pre-Vocational Education Club sponsor; Robert Adams, high school History Club sponsor; Kara Hunt, co-Student Council sponsor and junior varsity volleyball coach; Cheryl Nehrt, co-SADD Club sponsor; Ashley Fountain Waskom, high school cheerleading coach; and Kevin Hensley, girls junior varsity basketball coach.

Drew Markel was named assistant principal. He had served as administrative assistant, but he recently obtained his administrator’s license. Trustees also agreed to split the athletic director responsibilities inro two positions with Markel and Nehrt serving as co-athletic directors.

The board approved hiring, Megan Clark as elementary special education teacher, and accepted two resignations, Lisa Hughes and Melissa Glenn as library aides.

In other matters the boardL

•Approved a 50-cent increase in the starting hourly pay rate for non-certified substitute positions. The rate goes from $7.50 per hour to $8 per hour.

•Approved a 90-cents-per-hour raise for five non-certified positions.

•Approved a retirement benefits package for Claude Morgan, who retired in May as elementary principal.

•Approved continuation of the Gifted and Talented Program grant, which renews the school’s participation in the program.

•Approved 2008-2009 elementary book rental fees.