Voters To Pick Expanded Town Council, Clerk-Treasurer Tuesday

Crothersville residents will elect a new expanded town council and select a clerk-treasurer in next Tuesday’s municipal election.

Crothersville voters will cast their ballot at First Baptist Church from 6 a.m. to 6 p.m. next Tuesday, Nov. 3.

Historically, three local residents were elected to the town council, but an overwhelming vote of Crothersville residents last November expanded the number of town council seats to five.

Democrats have five candidates seeking town council seats including incumbent councilman Lenvel ‘Butch’ Robinson of 206 N. Kovener, Brenda Holzworth of 309 N. Armstrong St., Nancy Hopper of 104 Marshall Drive, Geoffrey Walker of 206 Central Ave., and Robert ‘Bob’ Lyttle of 515 Seymour Road.

Republicans have four candidates seeking town council seats. They are J.D. Woods of 501 Seymour Road, Jerad T. Sporleder of 304 E. Howard, Chad Wilson of 105 W. Dixon, and Danieta Gullett Foster of 511 N. Jackson St.

Incumbent Republican clerk-treasurer Terry Richey of 411 E. Collman is facing a challenge from Democrat former clerk-treasurer Nalona Deputy Bush of 407 N. Preston St. Richey was appointed as clerk-treasurer in early 2014 when former clerk-treasurer Michele Teipen moved outside of the town boundaries.

As a result of the election, the town council has moved their regular November meeting to next Monday, Nov. 2, at 5:30 p.m.