Voters Approve Expanding Town Council

Voters in Crothersville overwhelmingly approved increasing the number of officials to represent them on the town council.
There were 222 votes to increase the town council from 3 to 5 members and 92 voting no.
As a result, the November 2015 municipal election will have five town council candidates on the ballot in Crothersville.
Candidates for Crothersville Town Council can begin filing  for office next year.
Other election results
In local election races last week, Linda Luedeman defeated incumbent Crothersville School Board member Andrew Nehrt 472-235. Incumbent school board member Ralph Hillenburg turned back a challenge by Geoffrey Walker 390-302.
Robert Spicer was unopposed in his bid for another term on the local school board receiving 530 votes.
Republicans swept most county and township offices except in Vernon Township where Democrat Scott Kovener easily outdistanced Independent challenger Todd Baker 459-225.
For Vernon Township Board incumbent Republican Roger Teipen received 474 votes, incumbent Democrat Odes Densford gathered 446 votes and they will be joined on the board by political newcomer Democrat Allene Hougland who received 383 votes. Democrat Alisa Sweazy received 358 votes.
In the rest of the county, regional and state races, Republicans ruled.
The race for Superior Court 1 was the closest contest with incumbent Republican Bruce Markel receiving 5,479 votes to Democrat Susan Bever’s 5,012.
Incumbent Republican sheriff Michael Carothers received the highest number of votes of any county-wide race gaining 6,946 votes to Democrat challenger Jeff Lane’s 3,607.
Six term incumbent Democrat Assessor Bev Gaiter was defeated by Republican Katie Kaufman, 5,457 to 4,943.
Incumbent Republican County recorder Linda Auleman turned back a challenge by Democrat Vickie Ault 6,054-4,223.
In county council races, Michael Davidson defeated Brian Tidd 1,909-829 for the District 1 seat.
Leon Pottschmidt defeated Karen Metz 1,764-1,223 for the District 2 council seat and Republican Bridey Jacobi defeated incumbent Democrat Greg Prange 1,266-1,043 for the District 4 council seat.