Republicans To Hold Town Convention To Name Council Candidates

With four Republicans seeking their party’s nomination for three seats on the Crothersville Town Council, a party convention will be held later this month to select the three nominees.
Joe Seal added his name to the list of GOP candidates when he filed candidacy petition on Thursday, July 25.
He joins incumbent Republican Ardell Mitchell, and political new-comers Derrick Minton and Danietta Gullett Foster.
Republican Michele Teipen is the party’s nominee for clerk-treasurer.
Democrats had a full slate of candidate file by the noon deadline on Monday, Aug. 1, and will not need to hold a party convention.
Incumbent clerk-treasurer Nalona Bush is seeking re-election to the post.
Incumbent town council woman Karen Mains is joined by Democrats Lenvel ‘Butch’ Robinson and Rex Robinson.
Jackson County Republican Chairwoman Melissa Acton said she is seeking a Republican from inside the town boundaries to appoint as town convention chair.
“That person will then set the day, time and place for Crothersville Republicans to meet and vote for their candidates in the November municipal election,” said Acton.
The convention will be scheduled before the end of August, she said.