Republicans Tap Mitchell, Foster, Minton As Town Council Candidates

In a history setting gathering, for the first time in memory, Crothersville Republicans met last Wednesday in a town convention to election three candidates for town council
According to convention chairperson, Kelley Schmelzle, Ardell Mitchell, Danieta Gullett Foster and Derrick Minton were elected to representent the Republican party in the November 1 town election.
The GOP convention was the first in recent memory after a fourth candidate for town council, Joe Seal threw his hat into the ring prior to the Aug. 1 deadline. Schmelzle said there were 17 in attendance.
According to incumbent councilman Ardell Mitchell, he and Danieta Gullett Foster were elected on the first ballot but it took three ballots to elect Minton, who won by a single vote over Seal, according to Mitchell.
Mitchell, Foster and Minton join GOP clerk-treasurer candidate Michele Teipen on the Republican ticket in the November municipal election.
Democrats did not need to hold a town convention since three town council candidates and a clerk-treasurer candidate filed prior to the deadline.
Democrats up for election in November are incumbent clerk-treasurer Nalona Bush. Town council candidates are incumbent Karen Mains, and political new-comers Lenvel ‘Butch’ Robinson and Rex Robinson.