Republicans Rule In County Election

Except for two races, Jackson County voters elected Republican candidates in the Nov. 6 general election.

The exceptions were the race for Superintendent of Public Instruction where Democrat challenger Glenda Ritz defeated incumbent Tony Bennett in the county as well as statewide.

The other local Democrat victory was Roger Wheeler who was re-elected county coroner without opposition.

The county courthouse will be governed by Republicans with the GOP sweeping all contested local races.

Richard ‘Rick’ Poynter (R) will be the next circuit court judge getting 9,773 votes to Joseph M. Robertson (D) 6,583.

The biggest vote getter was auditor elect Kathy S. Hohenstreiter (R) 11,372 overpowering Autumn R. Kinser (D) 4,784.

Maria L. Fisher (R) 10,856 votes to be elected county treasurer over NaLona Deputy Bush (D) 5,114

In the county surveyor’s race Daniel S. Blann (R) received 8,581 votes to Jonathan Isaacs (D) 7,482.

In the County Commissioner, District 2 race Thomas M. Joray (R) ousted incumbent John Schafstall 8,665 to 7,391.

Commissioner, District 1 Jerry W. Hounshel (R) was unopposed with 13,044. The three county commissioner seats will be held by Republicans beginning next year.

The GOP swept the county council at-large races with Joseph “Joe” Bowman 7,415, Charles S. Murphy 9,196, Becky Schepman 9,678. Democrats were Jerry L. “J.L.” Brewer II 6,465, Rick Hirtzel 6,100, and Steve Ritter, 5,893.

For County Coroner Democrat Roger V. Wheeler received 11,770 votes.

While Jackson County and Indiana went for Mitt Romney for president, President barrack Obama was re-elected receiving 303 of the needed 270 electoral college votes. Obama won seven of the 9 swing states to easily gain re-election.

While Jackson County voted for Republican Richard Mourdock 8,292 to 7,045 over Democrat Joe Donnelly, statewide, Donnelly defeated Mourdock to take over the seat held for over three decades by Richard Lugar.

In the 9th Congressional race, incumbent Republican Todd Young defeated Democrat Shelli Yoder  9,661 to 6,898. Young won re-election in the new 9th District.

Jackson County gave Republican Mike Pence a 9,613-6,377 majority over Democrat John Gregg and helped Pence win the Governorship in Indiana.

Indiana Attorney general Greg Zoeller (R) was easily re-elected receiving 10,290 votes to Kay Fleming (D) 5,803.

Incumbent Superintendent of public instruction Tony Bennett (R) lost in Jackson County and the state. Bennett received 8,053 votes to Glenda Ritz 8,165.

Jackson County will have a new Republican State Representative next year when the district gave Jim Lucas a majority. In Jackson County Lucas received Jim Lucas (R) 7,780 votes to Democrat Jim McCormick 5,596.

While no longer representing Vernon Township or Jackson County due to re-districting, Crothersville School Superintendent Terry Goodin won re-election to the District 66 house seat defeating Republican Justin Stevens 13,161 to 12010.

Beginning in January, Republicans will have super majorities in both the Indiana house and senate.