Public Notice




This is to inform members of Jackson County Water Utility, Inc. of the upcoming annual membership meeting. The meeting will be held at the Brownstown Central High School cafeteria on Monday, March 14, 2016 at 7:00 p.m. The meeting is held each year for the purpose of electing three (3) members to the Board of Directors, to hear reports of the manager, president and other officers of the corporation and to conduct any and all other business which may properly come before the meeting.

The election process is as follows:

A member of the corporation must nominate another member of the corporation as a candidate for election to the Board of Directors held at the annual meeting of the corporation.

The person so nominated must be a member in good standing and must reside in the district up for election that year.

The nominating member shall provide their name and address and the name and address of the person nominated by them in writing to the Election Committee of the Corporation no later than Monday February 1, 2016. The nomination shall be mailed or delivered to the “Election Committee”, 1119 West Spring Street, Brownstown, Indiana 47220.

The Election Committee shall determine the qualification of the nominating member and the person nominated. These persons so nominated shall be qualified to the ballot for Director by Monday March 7, 2016

No nomination for Director shall be taken from the floor at the annual meeting. Each membership shall have one vote. (Example: If a membership is listed with both husband and wife’s names, either one may cast a ballot but not both.) The Districts and the current Directors up for election this year are: District 5 (Brownstown Township), Richard Tormoehlen; District 7 (Carr Township), Tim Steltenpohl; and District 9 (Vernon Township, Washington Township and the East one-half of Grassy Fork Township), Glen Henry.

If you have any questions about the nomination process, feel free to contact the corporation office at 812-358-3654.

1/13, 1/20   hspaxlp