Primary Races Set In Austin & Scottsburg

Crothersville, Medora and Brownstown Have An Aug. 1 Filing Deadline

The noon deadline last Friday passed and May 7 primary elections have been set in Austin and Scottsburg with a number of candidates seeking office.
In Austin, four Democrats and two Republicans are seeking their party’s nod to replace Austin Mayor Dillo Bush who chose not to seek re-election.
Democrats will chose between Ron Atkins, Roger Hawkins, Mark Stidham and Brandon White in the Democrat primary for Mayor of Austin. Republicans will select from Lonnie E. Noble Sr. and Jonathan Lee White for the GOP mayoral candidate.
While they will be listed on the ballot, there will be no primary race for clerk-treasurer of Austin as incumbent Democrat Chris Fugate and Republican Robert Jay Diehl were the only two candidates to file for that office.
Four Democrats and three Republicans are seeking the two at-large seats on the Austin City Council.
Robert S. Hickman, Brandon L. Stagnolia, Dewayne White and Johnnie White are seeking to be the Democrat candidates in the fall.
In May Republicans will chose between Allen Gabbard, Donnie Lewis, and Michael E. Payne for their two at-large council candidates in the fall.
At-large candidates run Austin city wide while only voters in one of three districts vote for their district council member.
There is no primary race in District 1 and District 2 as each has a Democrat and Republican candidate with no opposition in the spring.
In the Austin City Council 1 race, Democrat Jimmy Turner and Republican Ryan Gabbard will face one another in the fall.
In the District 2 race, only Democrat Joe Smith filed to run.
Two Democrats and two Republicans have filed for the District 3 Council seat. Dylan Baker and Staci Mullins will square off in May for the Democratic nomination while Republicans Donnie Lewis and Robert (Tim) O’Donnell are seeking the GOP nod for the council seat.
In Scottsburg, incumbent mayor William H. (Bill) Graham filed to run for another term on the Republican ticket.
Democrats Terry Amick and Chuck Sebastian filed for mayor setting up a re-match of 2015 for their party’s nomination for mayor.
Incumbent Democrat Jan Hardy was the only candidate to file for Scottsburg Clerk-Treasurer.
Two Democrats filed seeking the Scottsburg city council at-large post. James D. Coomer and Ric Manns will be contested in the Primary to see which candidate will face Republican Eric Mays in November.
In the Scottsburg District 1 council race incumbent Democrat Stanley L. Allen filed for re-election and in the fall he will face a challenge from Republican Chris Albertson in the fall.
In the District 2 Council race, incumbent Democrat Bill Hoagland faces a primary challenge from Denise Cain.
In the District 3 Council race, incumbent Democrat Karen Gricius faces no primary challenge for re-election. Two Republicans, Christian Evans and Larry N. Haven are seeking the GOP nomination for that third district seat.
Incumbent Democrat Chuck Rose was the lone filer for the Scottsburg District 4 seat.
While primary elections are set in larger cities, municipalities with a population less than 3,500—communities like Crothersville, Medora, and Brownstown—do not have primary elections and their major party filing deadline is Aug. 1.
Early filers for Crothersville Town Council were incumbent Republican Danieta Foster, and Democrats Brandon (Kyle) McIntosh and Geoffrey Walker.
In Medora, incumbent Democrat Betty M. Campbell filed to seek re-election as Medora Clerk-Treasurer.
Democrat Robert Thompson and Republicans James Davers, Jerry Ault and Sharon Bowers are seeking Medora Council at-large posts.
In Brownstown, incumbent Democrat David Willey filed for re-election as clerk-treasurer. Sonya Nale filed to run for Brownstown clerk-treasurer as a Republican.
Incumbent Republican Brownstown Ward 5 representative Sally Cate Lawson filed for re-election to that post.
Residents who are not registered to vote have until April 8 to register to vote in the May 7 primary election. Residents wanting to register can do so at the county clerk’s office or at