Primary Battles Loom; No Races For Crothersville School Board

Both Republican and Democrats will have primary election races in the May 4 Election in Jackon County.
Four Republicans are seeking their party’s nomination for 9th District Congress: Travis Hankins, former Congressman Mike Sodrel, Rick Warren and Todd Young.
Four Democrats are challenging incumbent Baron Hill of Seymour—John R. Bottorff, Carol Johnson-Smith, James R. McClure Jr. and Lendall B. Terry.
Jerry Lucas of Deputy has filed to be a write-in candidate.
Republicans seeking their party’s nomination for US Senate include Don Bates Jr, former US Senator Dan Coats, former 8th District Congressman John Hostetler and State Senator Marlin Stutsman.
Democrat party officials will be naming a candidate after the May 4 Primary, Two term US Senator Evan Bayh, the presumptive Democrat candidate, stunned Hoosier politicos last week announcing he woul not seek a third term.
In Jackson County races on the Republican side for Clerk of Circuit Court Amanda Cunningham Lowery of Vallonia will face Debbie Hanner Simmons of Freetown. The winner of that race will face Democrat Katrina Hoevener of Brownstown in the fall.
For Jackson County County Sheriff Michael E. Carothers of Seymour and Peggy Carter of Brownstown seek the GOP nomination.
Three Republicans are seeking the Dist. 3 County Commissioner seat to represent the western part of Jackson County: incumbent Monte Striegel of Medora faces party challenges from Matt Reedy of Freetown and Tom Callahan of Medora. The winner of that three-way race will face Michael Reynolds of Medora in November.
Democratic primary races will be for County Sheriff with incumbent Marc A. Lahrman of Brownstown facing a challenge from Shawn Minton of Seymour, Steven L. Ingle of Medora and James C. (Jim) Blevins of Norman.
The only other Democrat primary race is for Vernon Township Trustee where incumbent Curt Kovener of Crothersville is challenged by Todd Baker of Seymour.
In the Crothersville School Board Election, just three candidates filed for the three districts up for election. Taking office July 1 as a result of uncontested races will be District 2, Andrew Nehrt; District 3, Ralph D. Hillenburg; District 5, Robert E. Spicer.
The following candidates will have no contested race in the May 4 primary.
Incumbent Democrat State Representative Terry Goodin will face Jim Lucas of Seymour for District 66 State Rep.
Incumbent Republican Judge Superior Court #2 Bruce A. MacTavish of Seymour will face Democrat Mark Risser of Seymour.
Incumbent Republican Richard W. Poynter of Seymour is unopposed in his re-election bid as county prosecutor.
Incumbent Democrat County Recorder Tracy Hubbard will meet Republican Linda Auleman of Seymour.
Incumbent Democrat Beverly A. Gaiter of Brownstown was the only candidate to file for Jackson County Assessor.
In County Council races—
District 1: Incumbent Democrat Jack “Andy” Fountain of Freetown will face Repubican Brian S. Wheeler of Brownstown.
District 2: Incumbent Democrat Debbie Hackman of Brownstown will face Republican Leon Pottschmidt of Seymour.
District 3: Incumbent Republican Brian H. Thompson of Seymour faces Democrat Paul Bridgewater of Seymour.
District 4: Incumbent Democrat Gregory V. Prange of Seymour was the only candidate to file before the noon Friday deadline.
Locally three incumbent Democrats filed for Vernon Township Board: Karen Metz of Crothersville, Scott Kovener of Crothersville and Odes Densford of Austin.
Roger Teipen of Crothersville was the lone Republican to file for Vernon Township Board before the deadline Friday.