FEMA Adds Jackson County To Disaster Aid List

Officials with the Indiana Department of Homeland Security (IDHS) and Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) have added Jackson and nine other counties to the list of those eligible for disaster assistance as a result of the Sept. 14 windstorm.

Federal and state programs will help homeowners, renters and business owners bounce back from severe storms and flooding that accompanied the remnants of Hurricane Ike into the state.

Residents with property damages in the following counties are eligible to apply for a wide range of state and federal disaster assistance programs: Clark, Crawford, Dearborn, Jackson, Knox, Lawrence, Martin, Pike, Spencer and Switzerland counties. Federal help includes:

•Grants for temporary disaster housing assistance and home repairs

•Grants to help meet serious disaster-related needs and expenses not covered by insurance or other assistance programs

•U. S. Small Business Administration low-interest loans for homeowners, renters and business owners to repair or replace real or personal property and for housing repair.

In addition, an array of state programs will be offered.

“We’re committed to delivering assistance wherever it’s needed and to making sure that every qualified individual, family and business receives the help needed to get back on the road to recovery,” said IDHS Executive Director Joe Wainscott, Jr., state coordinator for disaster assistance programs, on behalf of Gov. Daniels.

Affected individuals and business owners may apply for assistance by calling the toll-free application number, 1-800-621-FEMA (3362). An application can also be completed online at www.fema.gov.

Those with a speech or hearing impairment may call TTY 1-800-462-7585.

Officials remind residents who have already filled out damage report forms for state and local offices or voluntary agencies that they must apply to FEMA to be considered for federal assistance.

Applicants are asked to provide the following information:

•Current phone number

•Social Security number, if available

•A general list of damages and losses from the storms and flooding

•Insurance policy number, or agent and company name if you have property insurance

•Household financial information

•The address of the damaged property and directions to reach it

Counties previously designated as eligible for assistance are: Harrison, Jefferson, Jennings, Lake, LaPorte and Porter counties.