County Groups Recognized For Recycling Excellence

The Jackson County Solid Waste Management District announced the 2008 recipients of the Indiana Communities Achieving Recycling Excellence (ICARE) Awards for Jackson County at their annual meeting.

The ICARE Awards are a local recognition program for schools, governmental entities, businesses, community organizations, and individuals who have made an impact on the environment through the initiation of a new recycling program or the enhancement of an existing program.

Winning in the Educational Facility category was Brownstown Elementary School for their recycling efforts in the classroom, office, and kitchen. Mr. Tom McCool, principal accepted the award for the recycling of cardboard, paper, steel cans, aluminum, and plastic.

Sheriff Marc Larhman accepted the award in the governmental entity category on behalf of the Jackson County Jail. This year the jail has expanded its recycling program by recycling cardboard, steel cans, plastic bottles, and electronics. The sheriffís department also assists with the pharmaceutical collection in the county.

Medora Lionís Club received the ICARE Award for community organizations for the initiation of a recycling drop-off program in Medora.

Katie Beesley, a third grader at Medora Elementary School was awarded the individual award for her part in the creation of the Medora recycling program in both the town and the school system.

The ICARE Awards are awarded annually by the Jackson County Solid Waste Management District.

For more information on the how you can start or expand your recycling program, call the Solid Waste District at 358-4277 or e-mail to