Candidates Toss Hat In Ring

Filing to run for pubic office got underway last Wednesday morning and several have filed their intentions to seek office during the first week of filing.
Potential candidates have until noon on Friday, Feb. 19 to file candidacy papers with the Jackson County Clerk.
So far no school board candidate has filed a candidacy declaration for the Crothersville Schools. The Districts up for election in May include District 2, the area north of County Road 500 S and south of State Road 250 currently held by Fran Schill; District 3 the area inside the town limits east of US 31 currently held by Ralph Hillenburg; and District 5 the area south of County Road 500 S outside of the town of Crothersville currently held by Robert Spicer.
The following have filed to run state, county or township offices as of noon Monday:
Terry Goodin (D) has filed to seek re-election as the State Representative from District 66. He will face opposition in the fall from Jim Lucas (R) of Seymour.
Incumbent Jackson Superior Court 2 Judge Bruce MacTavish has filed to run for that office on the Republican ticket.
Katrina Hoevener, a Democrat, of Brownstown has filed to run for county clerk as has Republican Amanda Cunningham Lowery of Vallonia.
Incumbent Democrat Traci Hubbard of Seymour has filed for re-election as county recorder. She will face opposition in the fall from Linda Auleman of Seymour.
Two Democrats have filed to run for sheriff. Incumbent Democrat sheriff Marc Lahrman faces primary opposition from Shawn Minton of Seymour. Republican Michael E. Carothers of Seymour has filed his candidacy to seek the Republican nomination for sheriff.
Incumbent Republican Monte Striegel of Medora filed to seek another term as county commissioner representing district 3. He will face opposition in the fall from Democrat Michael Reynolds of Medora.
Incumbent Democrat Andy Fountain filed to seek another term of office representing District 1. He will face opposition in November from Republican Brian Wheeler of Brownstown.
Incumbent Democrat Debbie Hackman filed to seek re-election to the county council representing district 2
Incumbent Republican Brian Thompson of Seymour filed re-election as County Councilman District 3. He will face Democrat Paul Bridgewater of Seymour in the fall.
In township races Republican incumbent Jennifer Isaacs filed to seek re-election as Brownstown Township Trustee and incumbent Republican William Marsh filed to seek another term as Jackson Township Trustee.
On the Democrat side, incumbent Maryann Ault filed for re-election as Carr Township Trustee, William S. Wilson of Norman filed to run for Owen Township Trustee, incumbent Bruce McKinney Jr. of Freetown filed to run for Pershing Township Trustee, incumbent Conrad Calmer filed to run as Redding Township Trustee and incumbent Curt Kovener filed to seek re-election as Vernon Township Trustee.