Candidates File To Run For Town Offices

With the filing deadline less than two months away, both Democratic and Republican candidates have declared their candidacy to run for Crothersville Town elective office.

Historically, three local residents are elected to the town council, but an overwhelming vote of residents last November expanded the number of town council seats to five.

Democrats currently have four candidates seeking town council. They are Brenda Holzworth of 309 N. Armstrong St., Nancy Hopper of 104 Marshall Drive, Geoffrey Walker of 206 Central Ave., and Robert ‘Bob’ Lyttle of 515 Seymour Road.

Republicans have three candidates seeking town council seats. They are J.D. Woods of 501 Seymour Road, Jerad T. Sporleder of 304 E. Howard, and Chad Wilson of 105 W. Dixon.

Incumbent Republican clerk-treasurer Terry Richey of 411 E. Collman filed to seek election to a full term. She was appointed to the post in early 2014 when former clerk-treasurer Michele Teipen moved outside of the town boundaries.

Former Democrat clerk-treasurer Nalona Deputy Bush of 407 N. Preston St. has filed to run for that office this November.

Candidates for town office have until noon on Monday, Aug. 3, to filed their candidacy with the Jackson County Clerk.

If more than five town council candidates and one clerk treasurer candidate file to run from each respective party, then the party will hold a town convention where residents affiliated with the party will vote for the candidates to be placed on the ballot in the Nov. 3 municipal election.