3 Democrats File For Council Seats

Three local residents have filed to run on the Democratic ticket for Crothersville Town Council in the November General Election. Brenda Holzworth of 309 N. Armstrong St filed for town council on Jan. 12. Political new-comer Nancy Hopper of 104 Marshall Drive filed to run for town council on Jan. 14. Geoffrey Walker of 206 Central Ave. filed to run for town council on Jan. 15. Holzworth was an advocate and motivating force behind increasing the town council size from three to five seats-a referendum which was overwhelmingly approved by local voters in the Nov. 4, 2014 general election. She has never served in elective office. Walker ran an unsuccessful race for the District 3 school board seat in the Nov. 4 election. Incumbent Democrat councilman Lenvel ‘Butch’ Robinson said he is strongly considering seeking another term on the council. As of 5 p.m. Friday, no Republican has filed for local town offices. Incumbent GOP councilmen Ardell Mitchell and Derrick Minton have indicated they do not intend to seek re-election. Republican Clerk-Treasurer Terry Richey said she is still considering seeking the office and will probably reach a decision closer to the election filing deadline. Richey was appointed to the office in January 2014 after clerk-treasurer Michele Teipen moved outside the town limits. Crothersville residents have until noon on Monday, Aug. 3, to file their candidacy with the Jackson County Clerk.